I am having a problem with a bot, its constantly got around 60 bots on my forum at any one time and my bandwidth has shot up from 0.6 gig a day to 6gig the bot details are below:
e-collector Spider
209.152.169.77
LWP::Simple/5.803
It used hundreds of different ips and the LWP (whatever that is) is always different. Its apparently an email grabber. I have tried blckinh it via robots.txt but it obviously violates that and doesn't listen to it!!! any help with .htaccess? If someone could write a little htaccess for me so i can ban it via that i would be very gratefull.
Thanks






clientcenters posted this at 16:00 — 26th December 2004.
They have: 24 posts
Joined: May 2004
here's what I found:
http://forums.seochat.com/t3156/s.html
http://techpatterns.com/downloads/spider_blocking.php
AIML.US || Spaggle
boro_boy posted this at 21:55 — 26th December 2004.
They have: 2 posts
Joined: Dec 2004
thanks:
I actualy stopped this by putting the code below into the .htaccess file:
SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent ".*lwp.*" spambot=1<Limit GET POST PUT>
Order allow,deny
deny from env=spambot
allow from all
</Limit>
'
Its apparently a worm which is going around.