I am not paranoid. I am not paranoid. (Repeat 100 times.)
Someone from the U.S. Dept of Justice is on my site as I write this. Right now I'm very glad my site is not something of questionable legality (plagiarized copyrighted materials, crime-related, etc.), so I'm not too worried!
I suppose the folks who work there do online shopping, too, just like everyone else.
Has anyone else had particularly "interesting" visitors show up in their logs, or strange referring sites? Lately I've been getting lots of referrals credited as being from the URL http://www.hungryhippo.com, but the site is just a photo. 
Kristen
http://www.RewardsLookup.com and
http://www.cancerdrugfeedback.net still under early development
Personal page:http://www.isd.net/kwong/kristen.html






Justin S posted this at 20:12 — 3rd August 2000.
They have: 2,076 posts
Joined: Jun 1999
I'm sorry, but that would scare me like hell if someone from that place was looking at my website. I guess I wouldn't have anything to be worried about. If I were running a warez site or something like that then I'd just about have a heart attack
Justin Stayton - [email] [icq]
Justin S posted this at 20:14 — 3rd August 2000.
They have: 2,076 posts
Joined: Jun 1999
Ok, well I totally missed the question asked
Have I ever had anyone interesting visit your site? Hmmm. Actually yes. A long time ago when I ran a Jaromir Jagr (hockey player) fan page, I got him to visit and endorse the site. It was awesome 
Justin Stayton - [email] [icq]
KLWong posted this at 14:33 — 4th August 2000.
They have: 135 posts
Joined: Apr 2000
Actually, I was a bit startled at first. But after starting that mantra ("I am not paranoid") and rationalizing, and I felt better.
And given your age, how could you have run somebody's fan site "a long time ago"? Was it a kindergarden project?
(On the other hand, in internet time last year is a long time ago...)
Kristen
http://www.RewardsLookup.com and
http://www.cancerdrugfeedback.net still under early development
Personal page:http://www.isd.net/kwong/kristen.html
Justin S posted this at 15:40 — 4th August 2000.
They have: 2,076 posts
Joined: Jun 1999
No, actually I started the site when I was 11, and then around age 12 I got it officially sponsored. It was pretty cool. But that was almost 3 years ago...
Justin Stayton - [email] [icq]
Ravi Pachai posted this at 15:50 — 4th August 2000.
They have: 433 posts
Joined: Apr 2000
what happened to the site Justin ?
richjb posted this at 18:18 — 4th August 2000.
They have: 193 posts
Joined: Feb 2000
Look in your logs again...
hahahahahahahahahaha!
Richard
Justin S posted this at 20:13 — 4th August 2000.
They have: 2,076 posts
Joined: Jun 1999
What's so funny Richard? Enlighten us... Oh, well the site was closed down because I had it on AOL (remember, this was a long time ago like 4 years, so not many had domain names) and then I got banned so my account was closed. I didn't feel like starting up the site again and trying to get all the traffic back, etc, etc...
Justin Stayton - [email] [icq]
KLWong posted this at 21:00 — 4th August 2000.
They have: 135 posts
Joined: Apr 2000
Richard,
I'm guessing yours is the session with the Referring URL specified as "Where all the little people come from"...
Kristen
Kristen
http://www.RewardsLookup.com and
http://www.cancerdrugfeedback.net still under early development
Personal page:http://www.isd.net/kwong/kristen.html
richjb posted this at 22:20 — 4th August 2000.
They have: 193 posts
Joined: Feb 2000
When do you think I should release the "browser" "Fairy Power Dust v2?"
Richard
Anonymous posted this at 01:29 — 5th August 2000.
They have: 4,713 posts
Joined: Jan 1970
As a web designer I always like to see large corporations in my logs. Lately I’ve seen IBM, Microsoft, RCA, NBC, and a few others. In the past year I’ve had the State of California (could be almost anything), CDF (California Department Fire), Macromedia, Whitehouse (again could be almost any sub-organization on the network), and some others that I don’t recall.
Parker posted this at 22:55 — 5th August 2000.
They have: 883 posts
Joined: Feb 2000
How can you tell when it is a large corporation or anything like that?
Anonymous posted this at 23:12 — 5th August 2000.
They have: 4,713 posts
Joined: Jan 1970
Depending on your stats program you can capture the host of your visitors. For example mine is currently user-2inip3i.dialup-mindspring.com. Large corporations usually have their own network connection (i.e. don’t use a ISP like Mindspring’s) so they are listed. For example ssle.sony.com is one I got Friday on a clients site.
Mike Fisher posted this at 03:08 — 6th August 2000.
They have: 429 posts
Joined: Jul 2000
I had an interesting visitor show up in the logs.
It happened to be a guy that was wanting to toy with me by spamming my 'signup' form for my Web Site.
Now, what he forgot to realise is that I use REMOTE HOST, REMOTE ADDRESS, and USER AGENT in my submission form.
So, I opened up the log files, cut out the parts that were relavant, and then fired off an e-mail [I would've called, but they were closed] to their head deparment proclaiming their abuse of service.
Another day, another person losing their internet access.
Mike Fisher - TWF Conquerer
"Don't trust a spiritual leader that cannot dance."
KLWong posted this at 22:05 — 31st January 2001.
They have: 135 posts
Joined: Apr 2000
I'm resurrecting this old thread of mine, as I have a related question.
Several times per week (for the past few months) at my personal page listed in the sig below, I get a visitor very similar to today's:
Wed 1/31/2001 - 09:29:10 AM (<-- most days it's ~5:00 am)
IP: 12.79.92.216
host: 216.albany-15rs.ny-rochelle-park-05rs.nj.dial-access.att.net
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.5; Windows 98; AT&T WNS5.0)
Referrer: NoReferrer
Here's a link to the log itself:
http://www.isd.net/cgi-bin/cgiwrap/kwong/pagelog.cgi?display=logfile
This is very strange to me, as (a) I know no one in New Jersey/Albany/etc and (b) this page changes maybe once every few months -- there's no reason for anyone to check it so often (they check daily sometimes). I've surfed sites which list various bots and spiders and have found nothing at this address, and anyway it looks like a dial-up user.
It's so mysterious that I'm thinking of programming my page to pop up a window just for this particular visitor which asks "who are you? -- please email me!"
Would this be too weird a thing to do?!?!
Kristen
http://www.RewardsLookup.com and
http://www.cancerdrugfeedback.net still under early development
Personal page:http://www.isd.net/kwong/kristen.html