Ezilon.com - Target Your Audience, be Seen in Your Region

Warning - careful how you type google.com...

You are viewing this site as a guest. Join our community to get your questions answered and share knowledge. Active members may advertise and ask for a website critique.

They have: 7 posts

Joined: Dec 2004

Firstly, apologies if you see this more than once - I'm only posting it to each forum I'm a member of ONCE, but I will be posting it to fairly large number of forums...

A web site preying on those that mis-type web addresses has targeted Google.com with a site that attempts to infest your PC with multiple browser hijackers...

Just be careful how you type google.com and hit return... more information from f-Secure on the problem here...

http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/googkle.shtml

Do NOT visit the Googkle.com site unless you are supremely confident in your Anti-virus/Anti-Trojan setup!!

Here's why ..... this is one nasty site - it has at least 4 trojan/hijackers that I found in a very cursory scan of the HTML - all of which appeared to be blocked by my hosts file, let alone NOD32.

Nothing managed to get through my hosts file to the NOD32 I run - although without a very extensive hosts file, I'm sure they would have...

I'm sure a more qualified security expert can provide a more in-depth analysis, and although I'm no expert, I can see that this site has the potential to be nailing many, many, MANY googlers with finger trouble!

The site itself is hosted on an EV1.net (Houston, TX) IP address and is registered to someone out of St. Petersburg in Russia... if anyone knows someone at EV1.net, it might be worth sending them a quick email... who knows.. it might (should) get pulled for a while....

http://www.whois.sc/googkle.com

andy206uk's picture
DeveloperModerator

He has: 1,742 posts

Joined: Jul 2002

Does this thing just effect Internet Explorer or does it target all browsers? I'm guessing firefox users are probably safe for now...

Andyk

Music Rants News and Reviews | My Photoblog | Blog of a Web Designer
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach him to use the Net and he won't bother you for weeks.

bja888's picture

He has: 902 posts

Joined: Feb 2004

I like what yahoo did. Bought most of the domains that would be a typeo and redirected it to their site.

Greg K's picture
Moderator

He has: 1,601 posts

Joined: Nov 2003

I once saw a report about 3years ago at how much a large company pays just to protect their web presence, registering all the extra domains and such, imagine it is a lot more now.

[This space intentionally left blank]

Cool Geek Supplies: www.ThinkGeek.com

He has: 56 posts

Joined: Jan 2005

Man that sucks. Oh well thanks for the warning man, much appreciated Sticking out tongue

iWebmasters.com
Offshore staff leasing services

He has: 123 posts

Joined: Jan 2005

Yea, I would have never guessed that. Be careful with other spinoffs of the Google name, they are often linked to dangerous/illegal/fake/scam/generally ugly sites. Google didn't buy all the misspellings before they became billionaires and now everyone is domain squatting...

Click here to submit your site to Haystack Web Search and get five free banner impressions.

wwwben's picture

He has: 285 posts

Joined: Jan 2005

Sweet your right that is quite a site.. i got nailed from a gogofrog site today! i gained 400 infected files from ad/spyware it only took seconds and i automaticly created rules in my firewall and changed some system files in windows! yikes looks like im using Linux next time.

NEBS WEBS Quality web design

JeevesBond's picture
Moderator

He has: 3,489 posts

Joined: Jun 2002

What browser were you using ben?

wwwben's picture

He has: 285 posts

Joined: Jan 2005

Stupid Internet Explorer.